Happy New Year!

I’ve been bad, very bad.

Complete silence has taken over my blog. Not even three months into this endeavor and I had abandoned it. I blame a number of things: a surprising busy work season, holiday travels, a lack of creative or insightful content, and Gilmore Girls on Netflix. However, I know the sole reason for my sluggish behavior is just pure laziness. And for that, I apologize.

But as the saying goes, “New Year, New Me.”

Okay, I apologize for that one too.

Now, I’m not one to make serious New Year’s Resolutions because there’s just something about that phrase that makes me cringe and want to give up right away; however, I sat down yesterday (the day I intended to write this post) and jotted down a few different goals I would like to see achieved in 2015.

Included in this list was better management of A Block Abroad.

Looking through my archive, nearly all of my posts focused on my journey to Brazil. I felt that since I wanted this blog to highlight my travels abroad, I couldn’t discuss anything outside of my efforts to South America. As a result, when weeks went by that I didn’t think of Brazil or travel — yes, those rare weeks do sneak by — I thought I was left without content. There should always be interesting and engaging content.

As I jotted down ideas in my daily journal (which is another goal I intend to keep this year), I revised my vision for ABA. While my main attraction to this blog will be my journeys and adventures abroad, I also want to give my readers a look into my life and surroundings and write about the places I go and things I do right in my backyard. I also want to use this space to post some musings and thoughts outside of my obsession with travel and nomadry.

The most important thing to me is that I provide quality and thoughtful content. I am aiming to post twice a week on Monday mornings and Thursday evenings, but acknowledge that without interesting ideas I may as well not post at all. With that in mind, I do not want to use that as an excuse and since this blog was established on the idea of accountability I want you, my readers, to keep me in line when I am slacking.

So here’s to 2015. May the new year bring you all opportunities for adventure and excitement and may you relish in the beautiful creation around you.

Parting Thoughts: What are your goals for 2015 and how do you hope to achieve them?

Leave a Reply

