The Quarter-Life Crisis

Maybe it’s the new year, with all the talks of resolutions and goals that have really got me thinking about my ultimate life plan. Maybe it’s the fact that I’ve lived in the same place and have been at the same job for about two years now, which is such a foreign feeling to my nomadic spirit. Or maybe I just have a case of cabin fever and I need spring to arrive so I can go outside, explore and rejuvenate my spirit. Whatever it is, I had a mini quarter-life crisis last night and it’s got me thinking “where the hell am I going?”

I like to consider myself a spontaneous person. I take things as they come and live my life day by day. While I do have certain goals and aspirations I would like to achieve in life overall, I was never one to sit down and consider where exactly I want to be in five or 10 years. After all, I can hardly imagine what I’ll be doing next weekend. But last night it hit me, I need some sort of plan in life, no matter how rough a draft it is. Isn’t there a saying, “if you fail to plan, you plan to fail”? Let it be known I hate failure and don’t take it well.

There I sat, contemplating but mostly complaining about my lack of direction. My boyfriend, the problem-solving he-man who I’m sure would have rather been in bed at the ungodly hour in which I desperately felt the need to bend someone’s ear, finally asked, “What are you passionate about that would help other people?”

That’s a new way to look at things. I’ve been asked and have asked what my passions were in life, but I never really considered how I could turn those passions to benefit others. To be honest, I’m still not exactly sure. But in that moment, the only things that came to my mind at the utterance of that question was travel and writing.

Which brought me to think of my blog. How can I use this format to help others while fulfilling my appetite for seeing the world and writing about it?

When I write for the newspaper, my favorite stories are those that focus on people. The articles that share an individuals personal experiences and gets their point of view across to the masses. I enjoy creating understanding and bringing different perspectives together. Cultures and relationships are my favorite things. If I could build relationships and foster understanding and respect between different people all over the world, I’m certain would feel the most accomplished.

That’s what I want to do with this blog. Yes, I want it to be a Christopher Columbus-like journal with tales of my experiences and adventures throughout the world; but most of all, I want to highlight cultural differences and shine light on lives that my narrow American mind doesn’t quite see.

It’s a lofty vision, trying to get people to see eye-to-eye, but I don’t think it’s impossible. Maybe a more singular goal is to just encourage my readers to keep an open mind and see things from other perspectives.

So have I solved my problem of where I want to be in life? Absolutely not. But I think I’ve determined an overall life goal I want to pursue, which may help direct me in my future paths.

Parting Thoughts: I know this is a unique post, but as I mentioned previously, I want to establish a relationship with my audience, which means I want to be relatable with my life. How do you talk yourself through a self-awareness crisis? Where do you see yourself in the future or are you already at a point where you’ve met those goals? And, most importantly, do you never want to see this type of post again? Should I just stick to the fun stuff?

Leave a Reply

